Google Analytics Alternative Jo's Blue AGA: About Me : expr:class='"loading" + data:blog.mobileClass'>

About Me

Latest Update
Now living in Portugal just along the coast near Lisbon. Enjoying my retirement with my husband and two pooches Otis & Olive. We have been blessed with a beautiful granddaughter since i last updated. I’m hoping to start a monthly update of some of the places we’ve been to and restaurants we’ve eaten in. Unfortunately the recipe publishing has had to take a back seat because the oven i have here is unpredictable to say the least.

Original About Me
Hi my name is Jo Wheatley. I'm one of the 12 lucky bakers on this years ( 2011 ) GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF. A manic mum of 3 big boys, Billy 24, Jesse 21 & my "baby" Dylan, nearly 16. Nanny to our gorgeous grandson Harley. Wife to my hubby Rich, basically surrounded by males, thankfully Ellie the dog is a girl. 

Most mornings you'll find me walking her. I love baking with a passion. I'm totally self taught, if I don't know how to do it, i'll Google and keep trying, until I at least have some understanding of it. I enjoy tennis (but am not great), walking (that I can do) and meeting with my friends. I would love to share some recipes with you all, and get your input.
Great British Bake Off: The final four from left, Janet, Holly, hosts Mel Giedroyc and Sue Perkins, Mary-Anne and Joanne
Updated Me
I'm still a manic mum but now I have this whole new wonderful career. Life is fantastic. 6 years ago, never in my wildest dreams could you have told me I'd be where I am today.

I have a home cooking school where I meet the most wonderful people and I welcome them back to my home time and time again. It is the most amazing feeling to answer peoples questions and actually know the answers. 

I love the feeling when I have a message from somebody that has baked something from one of my books (A Passion for baking or Home Baking) and it has worked for them. It's so lovely speaking to everybody on Facebook and Twitter. For me life is a journey and you never stop learning.

It is so wonderful to learn and share with all the amazing foodie people I'm meeting. Family is still my main priority and I know that will never change but I am lucky, as all this came along at a time when I'm able to concentrate on work. The boys have all left home now, but all still come home most weekends for family get togethers. 

The other thing that has changed is my blog updates. They are now about 3-4 a month and mainly posted at the weekends. I really want to push myself to try new things out of my comfort zone so be sure to let me know if there are things you'd like to see. Unfortunately my grammar still has a lot to be desired but I'm learning but like everything I do it's self taught so it takes time.
In my home life we were very lucky to have two healthy beautiful grandsons whom you'll often see on my Instagram feed, this is where I post more photo's of my life along with the normal foodie ones.  

Also I need to mention about Otis & Olive my wonderful French Bulldogs. Otis came as a very welcome surprise on my birthday 2014 and Olive in 2016 and genuinely they have made everyday nicer. To see photo's of `Otis and Olive  check out their Instagram

Please keep posting on here and Facebook and Twitter, hearing from you is the greatest part of my job.

Jo x